top of page
  • Writer's pictureJay Pepper-Martens

Property Type Changes

Updated: Apr 9, 2021

All of the Rapattoni MLSs of the NorCal MLS Alliance (SFARMLS, MetroList and BAREIS) have updated our property types to match the recommended "top-level" classes provided by the Real Estate Standards Organization (RESO).

The most important change that will certainly affect your day to day use of the MLS is the merge of the current Residential ("RESI" meaning Single-Family House) and Condominium ("COND" in which we grouped Condo, TIC, Coop) into a new unified Residential Single-Family Home top level type (which will continue to be called "RESI").

Inside RESI, you will select the best Property Subtype. And further you will be able to select a set of up to three Property Subtype Description values that ensure you can communicate the best description of what your listing is to other Agents and to the public.

Property Subtype values will be your main way of differentiating one listing type from another. Here are their meanings (and their codes you will see on some reports and interfaces) and definitions. The first group consists of the Subtypes you'll use most commonly, and the second group of Subtypes you'll use rarely or possibly never if you do not list outside of the city.


Single-Family Residence (HSL1) - This means "House on lot, 1" and is the standard single-family dwelling that would have a self-contained street address and single-use entry. It might be Attached or Detached (see Subtype Description).

2 Houses on Lot (HSL2) - This covers the case where there are two dwellings that share a single, or ranged, street address. The dwellings should have (but are not required to have) independent entryways.

Condominium (COND) - For single-family homes with Condominium ownership type, you will use this value. This is a commonly used subtype in San Francisco.

Stock Cooperative (COOP) - This is a common type in San Francisco and covers any listing with this ownership type. You will use Subtype Description to further describe attributes of the listing such as Attached or Detached.

Tenancy in Common (TCLA) - Another ownership type that exists in the City, and like COOP, you will use Subtype Description values to further describe what the property is.

Townhouse (TWNH) - Townhouses are not Condominiums - they are row-houses that share characteristics with Condominiums, but are actually more similar to Single-Family Residences. Because they share attributes of two types, it is its own type.


3+ Houses on Lot (HSL3) - Almost never found in the City, this type covers cases where a plot of land has 3 separate dwellings but only one APN. You may need this type if taking listings in the central valley, northern counties, or southern counties. In San Francisco, you will likely never use it.

Halfplex (HALF) - This is not a 2-unit building. A Halfplex covers the specific case where a single building straddles two APNs, and the transaction only covers one half of the building that sits on its own lot. Rarely needed in San Francisco. You should primarily use HSL1 + Attached (Subtype) for listings in San Francisco. This may be a value you need to use if taking listings in the central valley or northern counties. This is a synonym of the sub-type "Duplex" which is also used conversationally.

Manufactured Home (MAND) - A factory built house that is transported to the lot is called a Manufactured Home and it is likely you will never use this type in San Francisco. It is included in order to be compatible with our reciprocal datashare partners.

Mobile Home (MOBL) - Also sometimes called a "trailer" this is a type of residence that is not permanently affixed to its lot (and therefore APN). Should only be used when the listing includes both the Lot and the Mobile Home on it. If you are listing just the Mobile Home but not the lot on which it is situated, you should use the high level type Mobile.

Modular (MODU) - Very similar to Manufactured (but different) a Modular home is built using components that have been fabricated off-site, transported to the location, and then assembled.


The rest of the Property Type changes are less complicated and are summarized as follows:

If you list many 2-4 unit (including Mixed Use) buildings, you will note that they are covered by the new "Income Property" top level type (INCP). Under this type, you will see 2, 3, and 4 unit buildings in addition to 5+ unit multifamily buildings. You will use the Subtype values and Subtype Description values to make sure Agents and consumers know exactly what your listing is.

586 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page